SWAN HILL SPEEDWAY                                                                                                                                


Press Release      


Speedway preview for The Guardian coming out for our Easter Event Thursday 18th April 2019



            Sonic Speedway fires up again this Sunday night with the running of the Street Stock Extravaganza. With prize money going down to 16th place the battle between 25 cars to make the 20 car final will be fast and furious. With five time Australian number 1 Anthony Beare not yet nominating due to racing in Mount Gambier Saturday night, he may not be able to get here to defend his Title. If he does make it here he will have to start rear of field in each heat which will place extra pressure on him. If he doesn’t race multiple State number 1 and three time Australia 1 Brad McClure will start favourite. Brad knows this track very well having raced here many times. However two time Extravaganza winner Morris Ahearn also knows this track well and will be out to win number three. Other fast drivers to watch include Mick Dann who has previously won a State Title here, while Jason DeGoldi, Mick Clarke and Damien Giacometti were all impressive last Extravaganza. Brooke Ferguson, Jason Blomley, Lenny Bates and Shaun Roycroft are also drivers to keep an eye on. Youngster AJ Lawrence has stepped up from Juniors and is rapidly earning a reputation as a potential champion having led the qualifying at the recent Mildura Title. This event will feature a flying 2-lap pole shuffle between the top eight qualifiers – 7th and 8th will face off over 2 laps with the loser starting 8th in the Final while 7th will then race 6th with the winner continuing on until all top 8 starting positions for the final will be decided.

            Vic Open Juniors will feature a host of future champions with Vic 1 Rhys Lansdown and Vic 2 Kasey Ingram continuing their battle in their East to North Series, but will face stiff opposition from Lachlan Fitzpatrick and Tristan McGraw who are both fast drivers who know our track well. Local drivers Lachlan Bull and Braiden Claridge have been racing in SSA Junior classes (and both are right up there in the SSA Series) and will step into their fathers cars for this series. Throw in local drivers Troy Higgins, Tara Cordina and Lochlan Glare and these kids will be well worth watching.

            Standard drivers have their numbers boosted by a number of visiting drivers who will be out to upstage the locals. Claude Pearson, Leighton Warburton, Tom Lambert and the Glare girls will be hoping they have overcome their recent mechanical woes, while Josh Campbel, Hayden Glare and Chris Grant will be hoping to continue their good form.

            Sports Sedans  will feature up to 10 cars with some drivers making their  debut here while Scott Bull will be out to win for the locals. Marc Hanson is almost a local having driven here many times, while Bella Rizzoli was impressive in her first drive here and will be hoping for another podium finish.

            With Thomas Button’s Formula 500 still out of action Chris Conlon and Damien Williams will continue their battle for the chequered flag. Despite not having raced a lot this season Aaron Stubbs, Nathan Caddy and Kane Charleson will out to cause an upset.

            V8 Modifieds return to the track with a wide open race. Jade Ewert is always quick but will be pushed all the way by Ian Forster, Esther and Michael Thomson and John Laffin. Not having had a lot of racing this year these drivers will be out to impress.

            Racing starts at 6 00pm with hot and cold food and drinks available, so after scoffing all your Easter eggs “get ya backside trackside” for a great nights entertainment.